25 Apr 2018, Wednesday

Sri Lanka clinch series

By Desk Report

Published : 2018-02-11 00:35:24

Sri Lanka clinched the two-match Test series crushing hosts Bangladesh by 215 runs in Mirpur Test in the 2nd session of the 3rd day in a low scoring match at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on Saturday.

Earlier, the run-fest first match of the two-match series between Bangladesh (513 & 307/5-d) and Sri Lanka (713/9-d) ended in a draw on the 5th and final day at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on February 4.

In the 3rd day’s play in Mirpur, having 222 runs in the 1st innings, Sri Lanka resumed the 2nd innings with overnight score of 200/8 in 62 overs and were all out for 226 runs in 73.5 overs, setting a winning target of 339 runs for Bangladesh. Sri Lanka collected 26 off 11 overs at the cost of two wickets on 3rd day.

Overnight batsman Roshen Silva scored an unbeaten 70 runs off 145 balls, including 10 boundaries while another overnight batsman Suranga Lakmal was out scoring 21 off 41 balls hitting four fours.

Taijul Islam grabbed the two successive wickets, bowling out Suranga Lakmal and lbw Rangana Herath with duck, restricting the visitor for 226 runs in the 2nd innings.

Taijul Islam got four wickets for 76 runs in the 2nd innings while Mustafizur Rahman (3/49), Mehidy Hasan Miraz (2/37) and Abdur Razzak (1/60) were the other wickets takers for Bangladesh.

Tigers’ got nearly nine sessions in three days to chase the target, but lost all the wickets for 123 in 29.3 overs before tea break after opening the 2nd innings in the 1st session on day three.

Bangladesh scored 110 runs in the 1st innings.

Debutant Akila Dananjaya (5/24), Rangana Herath (4/49) and Dilruwan Perera (1/32) tackled the Tigers’ batting strength in the innings of 29.3 overs where Mominul Haque (33 off 47b; 3x4), Mushfiqur Rahim (25 off 51b; 4x4), Imrul Kayes(17 off 22b; 1x4; 1x6) and Liton Kumar Das (12 off 20b) were the notable batsmen reaching the double digit.

Roshen Silva scored 235 off 499 balls in three innings of the two-match series scoring a century with 109 runs off 230 balls in the 1st innings of 1st Test and made two half centuries in two innings (56 off 124b &70* off 145b) of the 2nd Test, was adjudged man of the match and player of the series.

Brief score:
Sri Lanka 1st innings: 222/10 in 65.3 overs; Kusal Mendis 68, Roshen Silva 56, Dilruwan Perera 31, Abdur Razzak 4/63, Taijul Islam4/83, Mustafizur Rahman 2/17.

Sri Lanka 2nd innings: 226/10 in 73.5 overs, (overnight 200/8 in 62 overs),  Roshen Silva 70*, Dimuth Karunaratne 32, Dinesh Chandimal 30, Dhananjaya de Silva 28, Suranga Lakmal 21, Taijul Islam 4/76, Mustafizur Rahman 3/49, Mehidy Hasan Miraz 2/37, Abdur Razzak 1/60.

Bangladesh 1st innings: 110/10 in 45.4 overs; Mehidy Hasan Miraz 38*, Liton Kumar Das 25, Imrul Kayes 19, Mahmudullah Riyad 17, Akila Dananjaya 3/20, Suranga Lakmal 3/25, Dilruwan Perera 2/32.

Bangladesh 2nd innings: 123/10 in 29.3 overs; Mominul Haque 33, Mushfiqur Rahim 25, Imrul Kayes 17, Liton Kumar Das 12,   Akila Dananjaya 5/24, Rangana Herath 4/49, Dilruwan Perera 1/32.  

Share the story

Give your opinion

You may read